Faculty and Postdoc Programs

At the heart of any university are faculty members who are actively engaged in their fields of study and who are always seeking to expand and deepen the knowledge they share with students, colleagues, and the wider public. The Kinder Institute promotes excellence in teaching and scholarship across multiple disciplines at the University of Missouri by investing in faculty research, collaboration, course development, and publication on the philosophical foundations, historical development, and contemporary practice of constitutional democracy in the United States.


As part of our core mission to support the professional development of talented, early-career scholars of American political thought and history, the Kinder Institute offers two postdoctoral fellowships, one each in American Political History and American Political Thought & Constitutionalism. We are not currently accepting applications for Postdoctoral Fellows.

learn more


To promote undergraduate study of the nation’s political history and traditions, the Kinder Institute offers course development awards to MU faculty who design a 3-credit hour class or 1-credit hour tutorial for our interdisciplinary Minor and Certificate in American Constitutional Democracy. Course development proposals are considered on a rolling basis. Please use the link below to find out more about the process of applying for a course development award. More information about the Minor and Certificate, including a list of all classes currently offered, can be found here.

learn more


As a way to advance scholarship on American political thought and history, the Kinder Institute sponsors a program of research and travel grants for members of the MU academic community whose work focuses on the philosophical foundations and historical origins of the nation’s constitutional and democratic traditions, as well as the evolution, application, and reinterpretation of these traditions in later periods and around the globe.

Research & Travel Grants are closed for the 2018-19 academic year, and will re-open in August 2019.

learn more